High School


High School students will be offered the IB Diploma Programme* at EtonHouse Orchard.

IB Diploma subjects are organised into six groups, and students must study subjects in all groups. This is different from other systems, such as the A Level, where students are not required to follow a set curriculum structure.

Group 1Studies in Language and Literature
Group 2Language Acquisition
Group 3Individuals and Societies
Group 4Experimental Sciences
Group 5Mathematics
Group 6The Arts
However, depending on their interests, students may choose to study an additional subject from Groups 1-5 rather than a course in the arts. For example, they may choose an additional science. In Groups 1-6, students will typically select three subjects at a higher level (HL) and three at standard level (SL). The difference is that on an HL course, a student is expected to demonstrate greater knowledge, understanding and skills.

Students must also complete the three elements of the core which aim to broaden their educational experience and challenge them to apply their knowledge and skills. These elements are Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS), Extended Essay (EE), and Theory of Knowledge. These ensure a holistic approach to the programme and are unique to the IB Diploma Programme.

Learn more at the brand new EtonHouse International School at Orchard.

New Call-to-action

This page was last edited on April 9, 2018